Verwood and Three Legged Cross Twinning Association - UK

 2007 Press Release
"17+ years of community support in Verwood."



Home Flag-of-Honour 2007 Press Release

Follow-on Links

Home Up


This is a copy of the COE Press Release for the 2007 COE awards.

Nuremberg wins the 2007 Europe Prize

Strasbourg, 01.06.2007 – The 2007 Europe Prize has been awarded to the German town of Nuremberg in Germany. The decision was taken unanimously by the Committee on the Environment, Agriculture and Local and Regional Affairs of the Council of Europe’s Parliamentary Assembly (PACE) meeting today in Paris.

This Bavarian town developed fourteen twinnings throughout the world, nine of them in Europe, supported by ten twinning committees but also by numerous associations and volunteers. Nuremberg’s International Relations Office, which co-ordinates all twinning activities, estimated that more than 55,000 people had been involved in more than 5,000 twinning activities since 1991.

Nuremberg organises many conferences and exhibitions and also attaches great importance to all that concerns human rights by awarding an International Human Rights Prize every two years. Nuremberg also hosts cultural events like the International Organ Week and the World Music Festival.

Nuremberg, which was already awarded the Flag of Honour in 1999 and the Plaque of Honour in 2002, is the fourteenth German town to receive this award.

Created by PACE in 1955, the Europe Prize is the highest distinction that can be bestowed on a European town for its actions in the European domain. The prize consists of a trophy, a medal, a diploma and a scholarship to be spent on a study visit within Europe for young people from the winning town.


The Plaque of Honour was awarded to eight municipalities:
(This is the second highest distinction after the Europe Prize)

1.      France Saint-Sebastien-sur-Loire (Loire-Atlantique)

2.      Germany Eppstein (Hessen) 

3.      Gau-Algesheim (Rhineland-Palatinate)

4.      Sinzing (Bavaria) 

5.      Poland Bytom (woj. Śłąskie)

6.      Russia Yaroslavl 

7.      Spain Murcia (Murcia region)

8.      Sweden Vara (Västergötland Province)

The Flag of Honour was awarded to 18 municipalities this year:

1.      Austria Wagna (Styria)

2.      Belgium Evergem (Flanders)

3.      France Aixe-sur-Vienne (Haute-Vienne) (together with Grosshabersdorf (D)

4.      Granville (Manche)

5.      Germany Amberg/Opf. (Bavaria)

6.      Großhabersdorf (Bavaria) (together with Aixe-sur-Vienne (F)

7.      Gunzenhausen (Bavaria)

8.      Mallersdorf-Pfaffenberg (Bavaria)

9.      Nordwalde (North-Rhine Westphalia)

10.  Oppenheim (Rhineland-Palatinate)

11.  Ottersweier (Baden-Wurttemberg)

12.  Wadersloh (North-Rhine Westphalia)

13.  Lithuania Alytus (Dzukija region)

14.  Trakai

15.  Poland Białogard (woj. Zachodniopomorskie)

16.  Ogrodzieniec (woj. Śłąskie)

17.  Romania Satu Mare

18.  United Kingdom Verwood and Three Legged Cross (Dorset)

24 municipalities were granted the European Diploma:

1.      Bulgaria Kavarna

2.      France Amilly (Loiret)

3.      Andrésy (Yvelines)

4.      Plaisir (Yvelines)

5.      Germany Aspach (Baden-Wurttemberg)

6.      Harpstedt (Lower Saxony)

7.      Kamen (North-Rhine Westphalia)

8.      Kerpen (North-Rhine Westphalia)

9.      Puchheim (Bavaria)

10.  Italy Follonica (Grossetto)

11.  Russi (Ravenna)

12.  Lithuania Birzai (Panevezys County)

13.  Kedainiai (Kaunas County)

14.  Šiauliai (Siauliai County)

15.  Poland Gołuchów (woj. Wielkopolskie)

16.  Kędzierzyn-Koźle (woj. Opolskie)

17.  Łącko (woj. Małopolskie)

18.  Leśnica (woj. Opolskie)

19.  Lublin (woj. Lubelskie)

20.  Środa Śląska (woj. Dolnośłąskie)

21.  Russia Vladimir

22.  Sweden Borgholm (Öland Island)

23.  Switzerland Fribourg (Canton of Fribourg)

24.  United Kingdom Rushmoor B.C. (Hampshire)

Parliamentary Assembly Communication Unit
Tel: +33 3 88 41 31 93
Fax : +33 3 90 21 41 34



 Send mail to  
with questions or comments.
Copyright © 2005 -  2022
(Last modified: 16 October 2022.)
Copyright of  material reproduced by permission, resides with original owners.

 - References, Bibliography and Acknowledgements.

 DISCLAIMER: While every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of the data on all '' sites the owner cannot accept responsibility for any mistakes which may occur. Data provided 'as is' without warranty and subject to error and change without notice. Your use of this website indicates acceptance of this.. 
Please contact the ' ' with updates, suggestions and ideas for improvement,  including mistakes found and any other concerns you may have.